Estelí Gomez

With Joanna Blendulf, cello; Kathryn Montoya, oboe; Han Xie, violin The Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra: Allison Nyquist, Martie Perry, violin Rachel Gries, Viola: Joanna Blendulf, Erica Rubis, Cello; Phil Spray, violone Tom Gerber, harpsichord; William Simms, theorbo

Sunday, July 14 4:00

Glick Indiana History Center

Frank and Katrina Basile Theater

450 West Ohio Street




Grand Finale: “Viva Vivaldi IV”

Viva Vivaldi IV with Grammy winning soprano Estelí Gomez, Joanna Blendulf (baroque cello), Kathryn Montoya (baroque oboe), Hán Xiè (baroque violin), and the Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra

Our grand finale is the fourth installment of Viva Vivaldi and will feature concertos for baroque cello, baroque oboe, baroque violin, and voice.

Joanna Blendulf is the recently appointed baroque cello professor at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music. Kathryn Montoya has performed with Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra, Tafelmusik, the Wiener Akademie, Portland Baroque Orchestra, and Apollo’s Fire. Hán Xiè is first violinist with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. Grammy winning soprano Estelí Gomez will sing opera arias of the great and frequently underrated Vivaldi.

“….Listen to the way the solo soprano voice floats in out of her section, crescendos through the lower note, then decrescendos upward as she plucks the high C-flat out of the air….”

– American Record Guide

“We were delighted to award the first prize of five thousand euro to the American soprano Estelí Gomez. She gave a number of immaculate performances. Rameau’s Du pouvoir de l’Amour / Jeux et ris qui suivez mes traces’ was simply, and I hesitate to use the description because it has become almost a cliché, ravishingly beautiful. Personally, I was hugely impressed by her technique, particularly her support which was almost invisible to my eye.”

– the first International Early Music Vocal Competition, Poznań 

“...Gomez sang with vivid emotion and a clear, focused tone....Throughout the piece, Gomez filled the hall with sound and produced some captivating whispers.”

– Cleveland Classical